On Releasing A New Album

IMG00677-20110303-2326

So here we are on the eve of a new album release (my first solo worldwide available album) and if it weren’t for the Paxil the doctor recently put me on I think I’d be more of an anxious wreck than I am now (which, by the way, the Paxil is doing a great job of squelching.)

I put out albums and singles for the sheer joy of it. I long ago gave up any pretense of being a rock star in favor of releasing material that people might like.

It worked out okay the last time.

I also understand what it takes to make a good album from start to finish – at least I like to think I do.

I also enjoy my autonomy free from contractual obligations from a record company. This way I can put out material because I want to and not because I’m legally bound to. This way any moneys I collect are mine and I own my work.

Do I make money doing this? Eh…not as much as I’d like to but I figure that sometime in the future I’ll put something out there that enough of you out there would dig enough to buy in great quantities.

You see, I operate from a different principle: I let the listeners decide. I don’t try to impress anyone with a slick ad campaign, I don’t try to hype my work. Some would point out that I really don’t have the budget for that and they’d be right but I’d counter with the fact that even if I had that kind of money to throw around I wouldn’t.

I want my work to stand or fall on its own merits. You listen, you like,  you buy, it’s honest and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Music, indeed making albums, was never a choice for me. This was something I always had to do. Oh sure, I tried NOT being an artist making records and I have to tell you that I was completely miserable the whole time I wasn’t doing it. I found out the hard way I could no more not do this than I could not eat.

It was living a lie and I can’t be anything other than who I am.

Do I think my album will sell? Sure. Will it sell big? I don’t know. Am I ready for such a contingency? No, but I figure if it does happen I’ll do what I always do – adapt to a new situation.

One of things that weighs on my mind is live performances, should it come to that. I haven’t quite worked out how to play this material live given the conditions I recorded it under and it only leaves me two options: do I use sequencers and loops on stage (which would defeat the purpose of having made this album in the first place) or do I hire the musicians to carry it out?

I’m actually leaning toward the latter. I recorded this album to prove to myself and the world that you don’t need a lot of technology to do electronic music but should it come to doing live performances I’m going to need money – lots of it.

Tours are expensive and a logistical nightmare to boot.

Well…maybe I should have went with a record company?

Nah.

So tomorrow (Saturday at the latest) the new album comes out and I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed making it.

Leave a Reply

