On Something That Seems All Too Familiar

congress

I swear I must have accidentally boarded a time machine set for 1995. Haven’t we done this before?

I’m talking, of course, about the impending shutdown of the Federal government some 1 hour and 50 minutes from now (I’m over here on the left coast, three hours behind Washington D.C.).

Having been through the Shutdown of 1995 I already know what to expect and something I hadn’t experienced before: the National Visa Center will be shut down.

This is important to me because I have a wife in Indonesia who has been waiting patiently for this long, dragged out process to play itself out. After having waited over two years and finally in sight of what looks to be the end the shutdown will delay the process by several months or for however long this shutdown is going to last.

As if I haven’t had enough setbacks during this process already.

In closing, I’m stepping out to put a face on this The Great Government Shutdown of 2013. I am, for all intents and purposes, one of its unintended consequences.

 

Leave a Reply

